Disclosure: Some links in this article are affiliate links. We may earn a commission on qualifying purchases at no extra cost to you.
The Switch 2 Pro Controller (model BEE-008) is the first-party pad for Nintendo's current console, and Nintendo attaches a hard limit to the sale: "Only for use with the Nintendo Switch 2 system." If you still play on a Switch 1, it will not work there, while the original Switch Pro Controller is listed by Nintendo as compatible with the Switch 2 and pairs to it wirelessly. That single line matters before anything else on the spec sheet.
Against the original Pro Controller, Nintendo names exactly three additions: a C button that opens the GameChat menu, two grip buttons (GL and GR) that can be mapped to any button, and a 3.5 mm four-pole audio jack on the CTIA standard. Other retained features include HD rumble, motion sensing, built-in amiibo NFC, Capture and SYNC. Nintendo calls the new controller's haptics HD rumble 2.
Where the Nintendo pad pulls ahead is stamina and charging. Nintendo rates it at about 40 hours per charge, an estimate that varies with use, against the 30 hours PowerA publishes for its Switch 2 Advantage pad and the roughly 20 hours 8BitDo quotes for the Pro 2. Charging is roughly half the original's: about 3 to 3.5 hours instead of the six hours Nintendo lists for the original Switch Pro Controller.
Quick Reference
| Item | Nintendo's figure |
|---|---|
| Model number | BEE-008 |
| Release date | June 5, 2025 |
| Works with | Switch 2 only |
| Size | About 105 × 148 × 60.2 mm |
| Weight | About 235 g |
| Battery | Lithium-ion, 1,070 mAh, not user-replaceable |
| Battery life | About 40 hours (Nintendo's estimate) |
| Charging time | About 3 to 3.5 hours across Nintendo's pages |
| Connections | Bluetooth, USB-C, NFC |
| Audio | 3.5 mm, 4-pole, CTIA standard |
| New inputs | C button, GL/GR grip buttons |
| In the box | Controller, one USB-C charging cable |
Specs and What's in the Box
The retail box holds the controller and one USB-C charging cable. Nothing else, which matters if you plan to charge it away from the console: Nintendo documents charging from the Switch 2 AC adapter (model NGN-01), the included USB-C cable, or the dock's USB port.
At about 105 × 148 × 60.2 mm and 235 g, it is a full-size pad rather than a compact one. If hand size is the deciding factor for you, our small-hands controller guide covers the shapes that suit shorter reaches.
The battery is a 1,070 mAh lithium-ion cell and it is not user-replaceable. Nintendo states plainly that the internal battery cannot be removed and that replacement requires an authorised Nintendo service centre. The 8BitDo Pro 2, by comparison, takes a removable 1,000 mAh pack.
Charge time is the one figure Nintendo contradicts itself on. The spec table says about 3.5 hours, the US support pages say about 3 hours. Plan for three to three-and-a-half and you will not be caught out. Battery life is quoted at about 40 hours, flagged by Nintendo as an estimate.
What Changes vs the Original Switch Pro Controller
The three additions Nintendo lists are worth taking one at a time.
The C button opens the GameChat menu instantly. Its value depends on whether you use GameChat.
GL and GR are the two grip buttons. Nintendo says they can be mapped to any button you choose, but the mapping path is narrow: on the Switch 2 Pro Controller, GL and GR can only be assigned from Quick Settings during gameplay. The procedure is System Settings, Accessibility, Change Button Mapping, then enable "Change Button Mapping from Quick Settings" and hold the HOME button while playing. You get up to five saved presets per controller, and the setting does not apply inside games that run their own button mapping.
The audio jack is the practical one. It accepts a 4-pole CTIA 3.5 mm plug, so a headset with a mic works without a dongle or a wireless receiver drawing its own battery.
Retained features include HD rumble, motion sensing through an accelerometer and gyroscope, amiibo scanning over built-in NFC, and the Capture and SYNC buttons. Nintendo specifies HD rumble 2 for the new model. Our vibration test and fix guide is the place to start if the rumble ever feels wrong on one grip and not the other.
Compatibility: Switch 2 Only, Switch 1 No, PC Unofficial
Nintendo's US store page carries the compatibility sentence verbatim, and the support FAQ repeats it: the Switch 2 Pro Controller is only for use with the Nintendo Switch 2. There is no Switch 1 mode, no Bluetooth workaround, no adapter path Nintendo endorses.
The reverse direction is fine. Nintendo's accessory compatibility page lists the original Switch Pro Controller as compatible with the Switch 2, pairing wirelessly and charging through the dock over USB. So a household with both consoles has an obvious answer: keep the original pad for the Switch 1 and share it upward, and add the new one only for the Switch 2.
PC is the grey zone. Nintendo publishes no PC support statement and no Windows software for the controller. What does exist is Valve's documentation: Steamworks lists a dedicated Steam Input device type for it, k_ESteamInputType_Switch2ProController, value 16, sitting alongside the original Switch Pro Controller entry. That confirms Steam Input recognises the pad as its own device type. It is not a per-game promise, and Valve documents nothing about wireless pairing on Windows. Treat PC use as unofficial and test the specific game; our Steam controller setup guide and the PC compatibility breakdown cover what usually breaks.
Mac is the same story with less documentation. There is no Apple or Nintendo statement, so it lands in workaround territory, which is what our Mac controller compatibility guide lays out.
One caveat Nintendo prints on its own spec page: it cannot guarantee functionality with all products. Third-party pads can also behave differently on Switch 2 for wake-up, C button behaviour and system updates, so check each maker's compatibility requirements before buying.
Pairing, Charging and Firmware
Pairing is a two-path job. Wired: with the console powered on, connect the controller to the console with a USB-C cable, or to the dock with the cable if the console is docked. Wireless: HOME Menu, Controllers, Change Grip/Order, then hold the SYNC button on the pad for at least one second. The player LED stays lit once it is paired.
One Switch 2 accepts up to eight wireless controllers, though the practical ceiling depends on the mix of pad types. Connect a Bluetooth audio device at the same time and only two wireless controllers can join.
Charging status is readable from the LEDs without opening a menu. The recharge LED stays lit while charging and goes out when the cell is full. If the recharge LED is lit but the player LEDs never come on, Nintendo's advice is to charge for 15 to 30 minutes and pair again. A pad that will not hold a charge after about six hours should go to Nintendo for service. Our controller repair guide covers the failures that are worth fixing yourself and the ones that are not.
Firmware updates run through the console, not a PC app. Update the console first, then go to System Settings, Controllers & Accessories, Update Controllers. Powered-on paired controllers update one at a time, so leave the pad connected and awake. Nintendo publishes no controller firmware version number, which means there is nothing to compare against if you suspect you are behind.
If pairing simply fails, check the model number first. Nintendo tells owners to confirm BEE-008, printed on the back below the Nintendo logo, when a controller will not pair.
Switch 2 Controller Alternatives That Makers List
| Pad | Switch 2 evidence | Sticks and inputs | Stated battery | What it gives up |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PowerA Advantage Wireless (NSGP0545) | Nintendo-licensed "for Nintendo Switch 2" model | Hall effect sticks, two mappable Advanced Gaming Buttons, motion, C button | Up to 30 h (900 mAh) | No HD rumble, no IR camera, no amiibo NFC, not for Joy-Con-only games |
| 8BitDo Ultimate 2 Bluetooth | Tech specs list Switch 2 on system 20.1.1 and above | TMR sticks, switchable linear Hall / tactile triggers, two back paddles plus L4/R4 | Not listed by 8BitDo | No HD rumble, no amiibo NFC |
| 8BitDo Pro 2 Bluetooth (Hall effect) | Page states Switch 2 on system 20.1.1 and above | Hall effect sticks, two back paddles | About 20 h play, about 4 h charge, 1,000 mAh removable | Regular rumble, no HD rumble, no amiibo NFC |
| GameSir Super Nova | Manual and connection tutorial, not the spec platform list | Hall effect sticks and triggers, 1,000 Hz, Bluetooth plus dongle plus wired | 1,000 mAh | No HD rumble, no amiibo NFC, Switch 2 support rests on documentation |
The PowerA Advantage Wireless Controller for Nintendo Switch 2 is the only third-party pad here that carries Nintendo licensing and a C button. Hall effect sticks on the analog side, two mappable Advanced Gaming Buttons on the back, motion controls, Bluetooth, a 10 ft USB-C cable and up to 30 hours from a 900 mAh cell. PowerA is explicit about the omissions: no HD rumble, no IR camera, no amiibo NFC, and no support for Joy-Con-only games. It also works on Switch, Switch OLED and Switch Lite, which the Nintendo pad cannot do in reverse.
Check the PowerA Advantage Wireless for Switch 2 on Amazon
The 8BitDo Ultimate 2 Bluetooth brings TMR sticks and switchable triggers, linear Hall or tactile. Two back paddles plus remappable L4 and R4 give you four extra inputs, and it ships with a charging dock. 8BitDo lists Switch 2 support against system version 20.1.1 and above, so update the console first. It weighs 246 g and Our 8BitDo lineup guide maps the rest of the family.
Check the 8BitDo Ultimate 2 Bluetooth on Amazon
The 8BitDo Pro 2 Bluetooth in its Hall effect revision is the option with a removable 1,000 mAh pack, about 20 hours of play and about four hours to charge. Two back paddles, at 228 g. Its rumble is conventional rather than HD, and the page's compatibility box and tech specs disagree on the Switch 2 system version, so work from 20.1.1. The Hall effect explainer covers what magnetic sensing does and does not fix.
Check the 8BitDo Pro 2 Bluetooth on Amazon
The GameSir Super Nova is the spec-heavy pick: Hall effect sticks and triggers, 1,000 Hz polling, Bluetooth plus dongle plus wired, a 1,000 mAh cell and 263 g. GameSir claims about five million stick cycles. The catch is documentation: its spec platform list reads PC, Switch, iOS and Android without naming Switch 2, and Switch 2 support only appears in the manual and the connection tutorial, where wake-up requires controller firmware 1.13 or later. Our GameSir review hub has the model-by-model detail.
Check the GameSir Super Nova on Amazon
GameSir's Nova Lite 2 page does not list Switch 2 support. The 8BitDo Ultimate 2C Bluetooth and Pro 3 have Amazon titles mentioning Switch 2, but maker confirmation is not established here. Verify before buying rather than trusting the listing.
Which Should You Buy?
Switch 2 only, first-party preferred. The Switch 2 Pro Controller is the only pad here with HD rumble 2 and amiibo NFC, and it has the longest published runtime at about 40 hours. The trade is a sealed 1,070 mAh battery and no PC support.
Check the Nintendo Switch 2 Pro Controller on Amazon
Two consoles in the house. Buy nothing for the Switch 1. Nintendo lists the original Switch Pro Controller as Switch 2 compatible, so it covers both, at the cost of about six hours to charge instead of three.
Check the Nintendo Switch Pro Controller on Amazon
You want the C button for less, or you also play on Switch 1. The PowerA Advantage is the licensed route with Hall effect sticks and a C button, and it runs on Switch, OLED and Lite as well. Accept the missing HD rumble, IR camera and amiibo.
You want rear inputs. The 8BitDo Ultimate 2 Bluetooth and Pro 2 both add rear paddles and TMR or Hall effect sticks, a stick type Nintendo does not state for its own pad. Our Hall effect model comparison is the shortlist, and the stick drift test guide tells you how to check a pad before the return window closes.
PC-first. The Nintendo pad is not the PC pick. Nintendo supports no PC use for the Switch 2 model, and Steam Input recognition is not a compatibility statement.
Frequently Asked Questions
Q: Will the Switch 2 Pro Controller work on a Switch 1?
No. Nintendo states it is only for use with the Nintendo Switch 2, and Nintendo does not support using it with Switch 1. The original Switch Pro Controller runs the other way: Nintendo lists it as compatible with the Switch 2.
Q: How long does the controller take to charge?
About 3 to 3.5 hours. Nintendo's spec table gives about 3.5 hours and the US support pages give about 3, and both figures come from Nintendo. Charging runs from the Switch 2 AC adapter (NGN-01), the included USB-C cable, or the dock's USB port.
Q: Can the battery be replaced?
Not by the owner. The 1,070 mAh lithium-ion cell cannot be removed, and Nintendo directs battery replacement to an authorised service centre. This is the sharpest difference from the 8BitDo Pro 2, which takes a removable 1,000 mAh pack.
Q: How many controllers can pair to one Switch 2?
Up to eight wireless controllers, though the usable number depends on the types connected. With a Bluetooth audio device active, the limit drops to two wireless controllers.
Q: What model number should be on the controller?
BEE-008, printed on the back below the Nintendo logo. Nintendo points owners to that number first when a controller will not pair.
Conclusion
The Switch 2 Pro Controller is a straightforward purchase decision once you accept its boundary: Switch 2 only, no Switch 1, no official PC support. Inside that boundary it is the most complete pad for the console, with the C button, mappable GL/GR grips, a CTIA headset jack, HD rumble 2, amiibo NFC and about 40 hours of rated runtime, charged in roughly three to three-and-a-half hours.
Outside it, the alternatives are credible. PowerA's Advantage is Nintendo-licensed and adds Hall effect sticks with a C button, at the cost of HD rumble and amiibo. The 8BitDo Ultimate 2 Bluetooth and Pro 2 add rear paddles and magnetic sticks, a stick type Nintendo does not state for its own pad. GameSir's Super Nova is attractive on paper but rests on manual-level Switch 2 documentation, so verify firmware and system version before you commit.
For storage that fits the new shell, our controller organizer roundup and the 3D printed stand files both need a fit check against the 105 × 148 mm body, since older Switch Pro cradles were cut for a different shell.
Check the current price of the Nintendo Switch 2 Pro Controller on Amazon



